Previous speakers

From architects to product designers, graphic illustrators to branding gurus we’ve had nearly 200 speakers in the first two years of the festival, who have all made their mark on BDF history.

Aaron Draplin


Veronica Fuerte

Hey Studio

Alice Tonge

Channel 4 Creative

Chris Do

CEO and Chief Strategist of Blind and the founder of The Futur

Wes O’Haire

Dropbox, Founder Blacks Who Design

Erica Dorn

Graphic Designer, Isle of Dogs

Jim Sutherland

Studio Sutherl&

Liam Wong

Director & Photographer


Graphic Design for the Wizarding World

Jennifer Daniel

Creative Director of Emoji at Google

All previous speakers

Chris Do

CEO and Chief Strategist of Blind and the founder of The Futur

Jennifer Daniel

Creative Director for Google emoji


Graphic Designers

Andre Jay Meissner

Adobe XD

Verònica Fuerte

Founder & Creative Director at Hey Studio

Liam Wong

Director & Photographer

Michael Johnson

Founder Johnson Banks

Perrin Drumm

Founder & Director of AIGA Eye on Design

Alice Tonge

Head of 4creative, Channel 4

Erica Dorn

Graphic Designer & Illustrator

Richard Small

Art Director at Sony Design

Gavin Strange

Director & Designer at Aardman Animations

Milan Moffatt

Design Lead at SuperHi

Wes O'Haire

Product designer for Dropbox, Founder of Blacks Who Design

Laura Pol

Founder of OLIO

Laura Jordan-Bambach

CCO at Mr President, Co-founder of SheSays

Dan Rhatigan

Senior Manager for Adobe Type Development

Jon Marshall

Industrial Designer at Pentagram

Chappell Ellison

Content Strategist at Huge

Mike McGee

CCO and Co-founder of Framestore

Katherina Tudball

Creative Director at Superunion London

Shu-Ting Huang

UX Designer at Kano

Bruno Schillinger

Lead Product Designer at Kano

Toshi Omagari

Type designer at Monotype

Extinction Rebellion

Tina Touli

Creative Director Tina Touli Studio

Patrick Thomas

Graphic artist

James Cross

Creative Director of BBC Creative

Merle Hall

CEO of Kinneir Dufort

Paul Woods

Chief Creative Officer at Edenspiekermann

Oliver Brunschwiler

Leadlink at FREITAG

Anna Burles

Creative Director & Founder of Run for the Hills

Michael Morgan


Kirsty Joan Sinclair

Service Designer at FutureGov

Ben O'Brien

Ben the Illustrator

Steph Hartman

Founder of Collage Club

David Wall

Designer / Director at WorkGroup

Patrick Eley

Creative Director of dn&co

Karishma Kusurkar

Designer & Entrepreneur

Toby Hextall

Director of Product Design at MOO

Felix Ackermann

Lead Product Designer at MOO

Bianca Berning

Creative Director at Dalton Maag

Abigail Flores

QA technician at ustwo games

Kota Kobayashi

Design Lead at ustwo

Sam Pierpoint

Illustrator & paper artist

Joy Nazzari

Founder of dn&co

Brendan Dawes


Bryan Edmondson

Founder, SEA

Ruth Claxton


Eriol Fox

Product & UX Designer at Ushahidi

Nick Asbury

Design writer

Trish Thomas

Head of Digital Engagement at Southbank Centre

Ollie Purdom

Chief Talent Officer for McCann Central

Jacob Dutton

Managing Director McCann iO

Richard Newbold

Executive Producer at Frontier Developments

Paul Barnes

Partner at Commercial Type

Cat Powell

Head of Artfelt at Sheffield Children's Hospial



Rob Nield

Associate at Arup

Craig Oldham

Studio Founder

Sweta Pathak

Head of Art at Health Unlimited

Maria Smith

Founding Director at Interrobang

Steve Webb

Director at Webb Yates

Adrian Franklin

CPO & Co-founder of Aula

Alessandro Columbano

Senior Lecturer at Birmingham School of Architecture and Design

Ally Standing

Lecturer in Contextual Studies at Birmingham City University

Mike Roberts

Chief Creative Officer at Green Room Design

Jane Anderson

Lecturer in Graphic Communication at Birmingham City University

Mike Dring

Anna Parker

Intervention Architecture

Luke Matthews

Experience Designer at 383

Tracey Thorne

Founder Ghost Streets

Adam Cox

Founder of Cavendish Pianos



Fully Justified

Aaron Draplin

Founder Draplin Design Co.

Marina Willer

Partner at Pentagram

Anthony Burrill

Graphic Artist / Printmaker

Astrid Stavro

Creative Director, Atlas

Trevor Beattie

Advertising Legend

Jack Renwick

Creative Director

Jim Sutherland

Founder Studio Sutherl&

Kuchar Swara

Telegraph design director

Devita Davison

Executive Director of FoodLab Detroit

The Yarza Twins

Creative Directors

Pablo Stanley

Design Lead for Studio Platform at InVision

Glenn Howells

Glenn Howells Architects

Johanna Drewe

Associate Creative Director Studio Output

Immy Kaur

Co-founder, Impact Hub Birmingham

Cris Mascort

Design Director R/GA

Zoha Zoya

Experience Designer Director at R/GA

Rejane Dal Bello

Studio Rejane Dal Bello

Tom Muller


Cheryl Jones

Director/Founding Member, Grand Union

Indy Johar

co-founder of 00 (

Mark Shayler

Do Lectures

Stuart Holt

Javelin Block

Harry Ead

DixonBaxi Design Director

Karun Agimal

DixonBaxi Designer

Kim Quazi

Director at Arup

Ross Kemp

Designer & Inventor

Paula Benson

Film & Furniture

Michele White

Rich Wells

Creative Director

Joost Beunderman

Director at 00

Kevin Thomas

Andrew Booth

Creative Director BLIND

Grant Gilbert

Founder DBLG

Gemma Germains

Senior Content Strategist at Dare

Michael Price


Lou Hisbergue

Designer at North

Sarah Drummond

Co founder and MD at We are Snook

Mark Jessett

GFSmith Paper Consultant

Thomas Harding

Head of design at Made by Many

Marksteen Adamson

Founding Partner ASHA

Salt and Pepper Creative

Senan Lee and Pansy Aung

Salt & Pepper Creative

David Saxby

Co-founder of Architecture 00

Will Lanham

Director at Of The Unknown

Two Girls Co.

Greg Willis

Make Architects

Sam Munnings

Senior Motion Designer, CG Artist & Animator at Territory Studio

Russell Clayton

Managing Director at Rosie Lee

Dave Sedgwick

StudioDBD Founder

Davor Krvavac

Executive Creative Director at B-Reel

Alastair Parvin

Strategic Designer at 00 London

Dave Draws

Zed Lightheart

Visual Artist

David Symons


Tom Harle


Michael Carr

Uniform Wares

Taz Shaikh



Lisa Maltby

Freelance designer & illustrator

Ringo Moss


Alex Acosta

Creative Managing Partner at McCann Birmingham

Cynan Clucas


Dan Mumford

Freelance Illustrator

Jo Simmons

Chief Design Officer at Friday

Andy Neal

Creative Director

Estelle Ricoux

Head of Strategy at Friday

Chris Holden


Daniel Harris

Experience Strategy Director at CX Partners

Eleni Beveratou

Creative Director at Dalton Maag

Jim Kerr

Seven9 Signs

Ian Hunter

Materials Council

Jane Bowyer

Independent Designer / Illustrator

Keith Bradshaw

Speirs + Major

Eve Warren

Brand & Packaging Designer

Andre Reid


Daniel Blyden

Design lead at Impact Hub Birmingham

Jack Sheppard

Digital Product Designer at Co-op

Sahar Afshar

Arabic & Indic Type Designer

Dr Rebecca Struthers

Struthers Watchmakers

Matt Cane

Co-founder of Cogz

Mark Hipwell


Luke Taylor


Darren Wall

Read Only Memory

Florence Okoye

Florence Okoye

UX Designer Natural History Museum

Callum York

Design Director at Nomad

Terry Stephens

Partner at Nomad

Sarah Seaton

Brand & Content Strategist

Karl Randay

Head of Design at 383

Fee Sheal

Digital & Motion Designer

Tony Matters


Naeem Alvi

Founder and MD, Notepad

Rosemarie Fitton

DeMontford Universiry

Subscribe for updates


Please select all the ways you would like to hear from Birmingham Design:

You can unsubscribe at any time by clicking the link in the footer of our emails. For information about our privacy practices, please visit our website.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp's privacy practices here.

* indicates required